How can you be bored of board games?!

So this weekend I had a wonderful time at a place I really didn’t expect: A board game cafe. It seems that board games are now becoming trendy again, as I know of at least two cafes that have popped up near where I live. But why the sudden increase in popularity?

Social interaction

The main thing I enjoyed about playing board games with my friends, was the sheer social aspect of it. Looking around at all the tables of people I noticed how involved they were all getting in the social aspect of the game. Board games, no matter how simple they may seem, still manage to draw you into the excitement as much as a video game would, but with your friends along with the ride. I can not believe how much I laughed at a simple game of Connect 4, nor how much fun it could be beating my friends at the Game of Life.

A recent development in the wild lives of my friends and I are the Games Nights we have held: Normally this consists of us playing various rounds of Cards Against Humanity, having a few drinks, and realising just how twisted our sense of humour is (If you have played Cards Against Humanity, you too will understand this!) and yet still managing to catch up on our lives as ‘functioning adults’. To me, it feels like we have all found a way to be childish, without being immature. We are all there, in person, playing games that we can hold in our hands. We can read each other to find out who the werewolf is, or we can send subtle clues to each other to throw off the other team as to what our strategy will be. Sneaking truly becomes sneaky and victory tastes oh the more sweeter when you can rub it in their loser faces.

Image result for simpsons monopoly episode                                                        How monopoly usually ends

Imagination and problem solving

Case and point: Cluedo. Anyone who says that they are not competitive is a liar the second this game comes out, and it is literally a race to find out not only who the murderer is, but who can do it in the least amount of moves. I have not played this game in years and yet I won (bwah ha ha!) and I must admit it was a brain workout and a half. I saw my friends concentrate more on their questions in each round than they ever did for final exams. I think that is because, any mistake they make….we remember! There is no way to erase what has just happened, the silly move you made that just cost you a victory can not be overwritten on your save file by starting again. Every decision counts as a result, it takes way more time, thought and strategy than any virtual game ever will. If your friends don’t yell at you for disproving their accusations, then can you even call them your friends?

Image result for simpsons monopoly episode police quotes

The lack of technology

As I’ve grown up, I have realised that while I am indeed viewed as an adult, I have very little clue as to what I am doing half the time. It worries me that my friends and I are well and truly allowed to be the ‘adult supervision’ that many packages warn children they need before playing with something stupid. Something I have noticed from spending a whole Saturday morning playing board games is that, for one brief moment in time, everyone in that cafe was transported to a simple way of life. Not a single person had their phone in their face the entire time, and I only had mine out to take photos of my friends completing challenges, or filming little plastic chairs that were stacked precariously on the table. Board games show that you do not need technology in order to have an immersive experience. In my house, almost every board game turns into a contact sport, to the point which Scrabble is banned unless there is someone acting as referee, dictionary in hand, to reach a peaceful end to the game.

What about you? Which board games bring out your worst traits? And which games have lead to some of your best memories?

T xx

 

Leave a Reply

